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Domain Wertgutachten

JDoe

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Ich schreibe eine Arbeit zum Thema und würde gerne eure Erfahrungen mit Wertgutachten hören.

Was haltet ihr von kostenpflichtigen Gutachten, die den Wert von Domains bestimmen sollen?
Hat das Ergebnis in irgend einer Weise eine Aussagekraft?
Welche Gutachten-Anbieter gibt es neben Sedo und Nicit?
Hat eventuell jemand Gutachten (am besten von mehreren Anbietern zur selben Domain) die er mir zur Verfügung stellen könnte?
 
Ich schreibe eine Arbeit. Ich möchte Anerkennung dafür, habe aber keine Lust zu recherchieren und mir Mühe zu geben. Könnt Ihr die Arbeit für mich erledigen?
 
was spricht dagegen, von anderen leuten die meinung zu hören? fragen kann man doch.
 
@Paul: Studium; Den Björn kannte ich schon, der war eine Zeit lang auch hier im Forum aktiv. Aber weitere richtig etablierte Anbieter, wie Sedo und Nicit hab ich noch nicht gefunden. Besonders im amerikanischen Raum (wo ich mich noch nicht beschäftigt habe), müsste es doch einige große Anbieter geben, oder?

@Sunblind: Wenn ich dir dabei irgendwie helfen kann melde dich einfach per PN!
 
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Wenn man auf der Seite von Benken auf den Sachverständigen-Link klickt, landet man auf einer Parking Seite (eines anderen guten Bakanntens).


Für die Sachverständigenätigkeit von Herrn Benken spricht da aber nicht gerade.
 
Was haltet ihr von kostenpflichtigen Gutachten, die den Wert von Domains bestimmen sollen?

nichts.

zumindest keinesfalls vergleichbar mit gutachten in anderen bereichen (wie z.b. immobilien, autos, etc.)

ich denke die besten und halbwegs realistischen "bewertungen" bekommt man in foren von erfahreren domain händlern. aber auch hier basieren die bewertungen auf eigene erfahrungen des jeweiligen händlers (sein verkaufsgeschick in der vergangenheit, etc.) und/oder andere verkäufe in der vergangenheit.

die gleiche domain könnte in anderen händen viel mehr oder viel weniger bringen.
 
...entscheidend ist wer die Gutachten erstellt, aus welcher Branche er kommt, welche Erfahrung er nachweisen kann, welches Know How er hat und welche Stellung er in diesem Markt hat, welche Anerkennung er von Dritten erhält und das ist mit Abstand die Nr. 1: SEDO.
Selbsternannte Gutachter und davon gibt es einige, die noch nicht einmal richtig bewerten können, werden von Banken etc. erst gar nicht ernst genommen.
 
Kostenpflichtige Domain-Wertgutachten braucht kein Mensch, für Privatleute ist das rausgeschmissenes Geld.

Die Sache ist die, entweder jemand hat

a) ne gute/tolle/grossartige Domain, dann weiss er das in 99.99% der Fälle auch
b) ne nicht so gute/grottenschlechte Domain, dann hilft auch kein Gutachten.

Wenn jemand hingegen Interesse hat, eine bestimmte Domain zu kaufen, gibt es genügend Verkaufslisten im Internet zu finden (DNjournal, Sedo etc), um selber Vergleiche anstellen zu können.

Und in jedem Fall kann einem ein Domainforum wie dieses hier mindestens genauso gut wie ein bezahlter Wertgutachter weiterhelfen.Evtl. sogar besser, da auf einem Forum gleich mehrere Meinungen zusammenkommen.

Den potentiellen Interessenskonflikt eines bezahlten "Wertgutachtenerstellers" sollte man auch nicht unterschätzen.

Einzig für mich denkbare Ausnahme, bei der ein bezahltes Gutachten evtl. tatsächlich Sinn machen kann: Bei/für Banken, Institutionen etc., die entweder unbedingt was "offizielles" sehen wollen oder keine Lust/Zeit/Knowhow haben, o.g. Recherchen selbst durchzuführen.
 
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Wenn Du eine wirklich gute Domain hast, dann hilft es beim Verkauf an große Unternehmen schon sehr, ein Gutachten zu haben.
 
ein Käufer kauft eine Domain:

- weil er der Meinung ist, diese Domain zu brauchen
- weil er diese aus Prestigegründen haben möchte
- weil er glaubt diese Domain mit Gewinn weiterveräußern zu können
- weil ein guter Verkäufer dem Kunden den Kauf suggeriert hat
- weil er unerfahren ist und jeden Mist kauft (Erfahrung sammelt :)
- etc...

All diese Punkte, wie auch weitere, sind nicht vorhersehbar oder dauerhaft beständig. Besonders der emotionale Aspekt bei einem Kauf, wie auch die Verhandlungkunst des Verkäufers sind dynamisch und somit nicht erfassbar.

Auch wenn Sedo in der Profiliga spielt, zeigt die Realität bei Vorauswahlen von Sedo von sog. Topdomains zu Versteigerungen und damit auch Abwertungen von anderen Bewerbern und deren Domains, dass Sedo oft kräftig daneben liegt. Oder wie erklären sich ansonsten die miesen Egebnisse aus manchen Versteigerungen, wenn das doch zuvor begutachtete Domains waren ? Eben nicht vorhersehbar/bewertbar.

Da Problem liegt meiner Meinung nach an der Einzigartigkeit einer Domain.
Bei Serien pendelt sich ein Preis nach Angebot/Nachfrage ein.
Hier wären Gutachten sinnvoll.


Markus
 
Ein professionelles Wertgutachten ist in meinen Augen dann sinnvoll, wenn entweder

a - es um eine absolute Top-Domain geht und die potentiellen Käufer bekannt sind. Dann kann ein Profi aus der jeweiligen Interessenlage heraus Punkte aufzeigen, die dem Verkäufer möglicherweise nicht klar wären. Ein Beispiel dafür wäre für mich die toys.com, die in meinen Augen von toys'r'us aus rein defensiven Gründen gekauft wurde. Hier gilt es dann diese Gründe zu quantifizieren.

b - es um ein größeres Portfolio geht, das z.B. beliehen oder in eine Kapitalgesellschaft eingebracht werden soll.

Daraus ergibt sich für mich, dass keinesfalls Sedo der geeignete Ersteller ist, sondern einzig und alleine eine große Unternehmensberatung, die im Zuge ihrer Beratungen hinsichtlich "Fusionen und Übernahmen" oder "Finanzierung und Investition" immer häufiger auch mit Domainportfolios zu tun haben.

Ich würde, JDoe, an Deiner Stelle also z.B. mal bei pwc, ernst&yang usw. nachfragen, vielleicht sind die so nett und helfen Dir weiter ...

Gruß
M.
 
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...entscheidend ist wer die Gutachten erstellt, aus welcher Branche er kommt, welche Erfahrung er nachweisen kann, welches Know How er hat und welche Stellung er in diesem Markt hat, welche Anerkennung er von Dritten erhält und das ist mit Abstand die Nr. 1: SEDO.
Selbsternannte Gutachter und davon gibt es einige, die noch nicht einmal richtig bewerten können, werden von Banken etc. erst gar nicht ernst genommen.

nichts gegen sedo, aber sobald ein domaingutachten etwas kostet, kommt automatisch das problem dass man kunden nicht "vergraulen" möchte und auch bei mehr oder minder wertlosen domains unter umständen der unverkäuflichen schrottdomain, einen gewissen wert attestiert. dann wird dieser kunde event. auch weitere gutachten machen lassen.
ansonsten ist er beleidigt.

aber hier stimme ich beatz01 (und dem letzten part deiner aussage) zu:

Einzig für mich denkbare Ausnahme, bei der ein bezahltes Gutachten evtl. tatsächlich Sinn machen kann: Bei/für Banken, Institutionen etc., die entweder unbedingt was "offizielles" sehen wollen oder keine Lust/Zeit/Knowhow haben, o.g. Recherchen selbst durchzuführen.

dann zusätzlich, eventuell sogar noch um gewisse endkunden zum kauf zu animieren.

aber für mich oder für andere domainer, ist so ein kostenpflichtiges gutachten blödsinn. ich glaube sogar dass man unter domainern fast ausgelacht wird, wenn man mit einem gutachten ankommt.

außerdem finde ich die research methoden und den aufwand den sedo für ein gutachten aufwendet, mager.

ich zeige dir mal ein appraisal von einem user in einem forum, KOSTENLOS, und dann vergleiche selbst mit einem kostenpflichtigen sedo gutachten (ich habe die domain unkenntlich gemacht) - passt nicht in einem post, also musste ich es teilen ;-) :
 
part1 - appraisal:


Appraisal For: xxxxx.info

I appraise domains based on the following factors
- Domain TLD Competition
- Domain Name Traffic Potential
- Domain Name Traffic Competition W/Google
- Domain PR (Page Rank) W/Google
- Domain Brandability
- Domain Past and Similar Sales History

I then categorize it's value into '3' sections
- Reseller Value
- End User Value
- Selling Time Frame (Cost to Sell)

Domain TLD Competition

Domain TLD Competition value stems from the fact that certain TLD's are worth more because of the characteristics they have.

Those characteristics being
- Does the TLD make your domain easier to remember or make it unique (Example: del.icio.us)
- Is your TLD Saturated in the market?

Note: More saturation means more competition for domains since most good keywords have been taken = worth more!

Example: Type on google site:.com, site:.net, site:etc...

(Example: .com - 25,350,000,000 for site:.com
(Example: .net - 8,740,000,000 for site:.net
(Example: .org - * 6,540,000,000 for site:.org
(Example: .info - 1,140,000,000 for site:.info
(Example: .us - 659,000,000 for site:.us
(Example: .cc - 480,000,000 for site:.cc
(Example: .tv - 417,000,000 for site:.tv
(Example: .biz - 374,000,000 for site:.biz

In general the above are the most commonly used TLD's. The TLD .info ranks about '4th' in terms of being the most used TLD. It is much harder to find good keywords now for .com since so many sites exist. Much like real estate when the market gets crowded it drives the price up. The .Info is probably a good place to invest in valuable keywords for the future since it's getting more crowded and it's still relatively inexpensive.

- Cost to renew the TLD

Example: I know for a fact that .cc domains cost $19.99/yr to renew at most places, and some domain extensions cost $50-100/yr. The TLD .info is the most inexpensive of all the TLD's to renew at $2-3/yr at most registrars, sometimes even $1/yr or given away free with some deals.

- Its rank in the TLD ladder

Example: .com is worth the most followed by .net, .org & .info, if you owned some keyword in the .net and someone else owned the same keyword but in .info and .us then you have 'two' potential buyers that may want to climb the TLD ladder and there is definitely value there, especially to a reseller.

How do I know know what rank a TLD belongs to? The best way is to look at what 3-letter combinations sell for in different extensions against each other on average. Fortunately there is such a site for doing this.

3Character.com - 3 Character Domain Name Price Guide

The site above shows the current price that LLL domains are selling for on the market. Where LLL represents a keyword composed of any letters (A-Z) 3 times in a row. For example zqr, pdj, zzz, abc, etc, what not. The point is since the 3 letters can stand for anything the price won't be biased like comparing other domain names might be. For example comparing dogs.com to magicmarshmellows.net wouldn't make a proper comparison since the value is obviously in the keyword and it's hard to tell what percentage the domain extension is having if any. You will also notice that the price for LLL domains closely follows the pattern I talked about before concerning domain saturation. The order is almost exactly the same. The reason .org sells for substantially less even though it's not that far off in saturation has to do with the fact that it's limited to organizational use and not really commercial. This is the same reason .biz sells for slightly more then .us despite .us having more saturation. This may change in the future however since .biz has not been doing well lately in my opinion.


In general the easier your domain is to remember, the more used and credible the TLD is considered in the market , the lower the renewal cost and the higher you rank in the TLD ladder will decide your ultimate value in this area.

After checking via: domainsite.com I discovered...

EDIT: I did a search on elaw here by mistake, but xxxxx turned out to be about the same.

xxxx.com: Taken
xxxx.net: Taken
xxxx.us: Taken
xxxx.org: Taken
xxxx.tv: Taken
xxxx.info: Taken
xxxx.biz: Taken
xxxx.mobi: Taken
xxxx.ws: Taken
xxxx.in: Taken
xxxx.bz: Taken
xxxx.cc: Taken
xxxx.us.com: Available
xxxx.eu.com: Available
xxxx.eu: ?
xxxx.name: The registry for this TLD is down. Please try again later.-3
xxxx.ag: Taken
xxxx.sc: Taken
xxxx.la: Taken
xxxx.hn: Taken
xxxx.cn: Taken
xxxx.am: Available
xxxx.fm: Taken

As you can see there is a lot of interest in the domain name if people are willing to pay the huge renewal fees on this for the keywords below (assuming you aren't the one that bought any of those).

You can therefor assume that for a nice generic TLD like yours (.info) is one that someone wishing to climb the ladder would easily be willing to pay more for so they save money on renewals and gain more credibility with there keyword.

To try and put a value on this, one can take the renewal fees of the domain names below you and tally them up and take the average. You know that if someone is paying $19.99 on a .cc domain below you that chances are they wouldn't mind paying $20~ to get the better domain at a minimum since they are already paying that. On top of this the more people you have competing below you the more likely one of them is to raise the other in an auction setting and if you are really lucky an end user instead of just a reseller may be playing in the auction.

Resellers would be more likely to buy the domain at a higher price if they feel the average of the renewal prices of the same name registered in a TLD below the ladder are in the favor if they want to turn around and sell it again for little loss. Add those prices for every domain below and you start to get an interesting reseller price strategy going. For every person below you in the TLD ladder, you can add about 2%, which is usually the bid increments for an auction to whatever the total price turned out to be. I didn't completely just make up this figure it's based on two interesting articles I read about the nature of humans when bidding.

Auction theory - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia &
English auction - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

It's quite complex some of the formulas and discussion but to make it short, the more people bidding the higher your chances of a more valued sale. My assumption is that the people below you in the TLD ladder will be interested bidders. To make it easy while this isn't exactly as accurate as the auction theory document describes, I chose to simulate this bidding phenomena by adding a small +2% to the total price we come up with as the average at the end for every domain below in the TLD ladder.

xxxx.us -> $8.88
xxxx.tv -> $29.99
xxxx.cc -> $19.99
xxxx.biz ->*$12.99
xxxx.mobi -> $8.88
xxxx.ws -> $35.00
xxxx.in -> $25+
xxxx.bz -> $50+
xxxx.ag -> $50+
xxxx.sc -> $50+
xxxx.la -> $30+
xxxx.hn -> $50+
xxxx.cn ->$39.99
xxxx.fm -> $50+

Average Value -> $32.50
Adjust Percentage: %26~

Possible Reseller Value: -> $40.95
End User Potential: -> 13+ known possible bidders
End User Value: -> Can't be determined or estimated from this data.

The above value is only for this one valuation factor. There is more value factors to consider that can add to this score or take away.

Domain Name Traffic Potential

Your domain name is important to a lot of users because of it's power to manipulate the search engines because of just it's name. In particular Google since it owns 85% of the marketshare and I will be basing my data around this search engine. If your name without the TLD at the end uses a popular keyword this can greatly add to it's value. Unfortunately or Fortunately depending on how you look at it, google is known to more likely show .com, .org, .net and .us domains first if there is a tie. To really understand your domains traffic potential an explanation of how the domain effects the search engine is in order.

Search Engine Ranking Factors | SEOmoz

The site above is a great resource that goes into the debate of what importance different factors have on the ranking of sites.

For a complete list of factors, look at the link below.

Search Engine Ranking Factors | SEOmoz

Interesting enough in the article I found that keyword use in the root domain name added to about 60% of the importance in assisting a user to get to the top of the search engines. This is an extremely important point as when trying to target valuable keywords every edge you can get is important. You probably noticed that when typing in most keywords the sites that have the keyword as the domain name are most likely to show up.

In the case of a sub-domain having the keyword or having part of the keyword in the domain name it only added 42% importance. So trying to cheat that way doesn't work as well.

Also considered low in importance is the length of the domain registration at 37%. So you can buy domain names with long keywords and it's not a problem to much.

Another interesting note is the domain registration history. I always hear a lot of people talking about the huge difference this makes in search engine optimization. According to my source it considerers it of low importance at 36%. This means it doesn't really hurt to go out and buy a domain name based on the keyword even though you have only owned it for a little bit.

Another interesting note is that the TLD makes a huge difference on the GEO-Targeting Factors, 69% in fact. That is to say, if you live in france and you have a .fr domain, then your site is more likely to show up first.

So what does all this data have to do with your domain names traffic potential. I'm trying to argue that your domain name and extention make a big difference as a factor in how your domain is ranked. For your convenience I've listed the top factors in order and what is important I've bolded for you. All my data is based from my link source at seomoz.org

Ranking is ordered based on...

73% - Keyword-Focused Anchor Text From External Links
71% - External Link Popularity (Quantity/Quality of External Links)
69% - (Geo-Targeting Factor) -> Country Code TLD of the Root Domain (e.g .co.uk, .de, .fr, .com.au, etc)
67% - Diversity of Link Sources (links from many unique root domains)
66% - Keyword Use Anywhere in Title Tag
66% - Trustworthiness of the domain based on Link Distance from Trusted Domains (e.g TrustRank, Domain mozTrust, etc.)
65% - Page-Specific TrustRank (has the individual page earned links from trusted sources
65% - Existence of Substantive, Unique Content on the Page
64% - Global Link Popularity of the Domain Based on an Iterative Link Algorithm (e.g PageRank on the domain graph)
63% - Iterative Algorithm-Based Global Link Popularity (PageRank)
63% - Keyword Use as the First Word(s) of the Title Tag
60% - Keyword Use in the Root Domain Name (e.g. keyword.com)
58% - Topic-Specificity/Focus of External Link Sources (whether external links to this page come from topically relevant pages/sites)
55% - Keyword-Focused Anchor Text from Internal Links

The above shows that your TLD and the use of the keyword in the domain name account as the 3rd and 12th rule in determining the ranking to a site and this can be a big edge when you are competing with big dog players on valuable keywords. It's the reason some of the TLD's below you on the TLD ladder are still worth a lot because of the ability to so easily get to the top of pages on keywords for those countries. In your case .info is neutral and has equal chance to show up among all countries making it more valuable in that sense. There are only a few domains that work like that, .com, .net, .org, .biz, .info. If you can .com and .net are far superior choices but I still see .info sites occasionally get to the top.

Now that we have the factors in mind that search engines like, lets see what traffic your keyword brings.

We will use the tool below to find out, it's free from google.

https://adwords.google.com/select/KeywordToolExternal - broad spectrum figures
https://adwords.google.com/select/Tr...timatorSandbox - possible more realistic figures

I found that, xxxxx where that is just the keyword gets 8,100 on average global month searches. Most of those occurring in march and april. It's also got a good CPC rate of $3.22/click for ads showing that it's wanted by end-users since they are willing to pay quite a bit for each click from an ad.

There is a very interesting picture I found which illustrates the importance of being position #1 and #2 and why anything else underneath those positions in the search engine rankings is only of minor importance. This is important because my assumptions on the value in this section will be based on your domain being in position #1 or #2. The picture link is below.
 
part 2 - appraisal:

The above shows an interesting graphic showing the user click heat-map on search engines, the areas in red are places where users are most likely to click first. With this in mind the data shows that about 90% of the visitors projected if you are in position #1 or #2 will click to your site after typing in the search keyword.

This means of our 8100 projected visitors, you now have, 7290 as a more realistic number. Another factor that needs to be taken into consideration and a mistake that a lot of domainers make is that they assume they will get this 7290 visitors. I can tell you from personal experience that this is not the case. At the time I wrote this I was doing an experiment on the keyword 'how to make invitations'. My site howtomakeinvitations.net is at the top of the search engine in the united states. According to google keyword tool my projected visitors is 3,600 (for the phrased version of my keyword. This means my keyword just as is without any alteration or rearranging of the words. It's best to use this for realistic estimates of visitors). I put on google analytics since I was in position #1 to see if I would get the 90% projected visitors I was hoping for. Since I've been up for a month in that position, I've received on average only about '10-15' users a month to my site, 264 to be exact from the keyword 'how to make invitations'. This is drastically less then what I imagined, what went wrong? I'm in position #1 after all. Well after analyzing the data from google analytics I discovered that 228 of my visitors came from the united states and even more of those from california (where my host is), with the rest coming from australia and the united kingdom. All the rest of the countries were absent of any searches toward my site or were very minimal. I wondered why this was and typed in my keyword but under a different google start site, say google.com.au and noticed I wasn't even on the top of the search results or very low. This has to do with the fact that while it's true that 8100 projected visitors type in the term xxxxx, the truth is that because of where you host your domain (which is a ranking factor) and assuming you host it in the united states that your domain will only mainly get results from the united states! I took my results of about 264 from the united states and divided by the 3,600 it said I would get to 13%, or a 87% error reduction factor that I use for now on when considering keywords to purchase.

With this in mind, the 7290 number we came up with multiplied by .13 (13%) = 947 Realistic Projected Visitors to your site in position #1 or #2. That isn't bad and I'll explain why.

If one uses the 90/10 rule (A variation of the 80/20 rule, which states 80 percent of people will look at something and 20% will actually consider buying), then we can assume that 947 * 10% = 94 Clicks/Interested Buyers a Month. I can tell you from personal experience that of my visitors so far on google adsense I've had 15 clicks earning me $4.49. The CPC google claimed was at $1.00 roughly for clicks. However that CPC refers to the max price one could pay to show up at the top of google not my site in particular. Once again I took $4.49/15 to find out that the real CPC was, roughly 30 cents a click. I took 30cents/100cents to get a 30% ratio or 70% reduction factor. So in your situation the CPC that google keyword tool gave you was $3.22, multiply that by .3 (30%) to get 96 cents a click. That is the more realistic figure an advertiser would pay to have their ad on your site that is targeting the keyword. My site had an average CTR (Click through rate on the page) of 3.54% which is higher then normal. The reality that is unless you place your ads extremely well you probably won't go above this CTR rate. To be safe I'm going to assume that the CTR rate will be 1.5% which is more realistic. This means the 90/10 rule is more like the 98.5/1.5 rule. So if I take 947 * 1.5% (.015) = 14 clicks. 14 clicks a month at the projected 96 cents = $13.44/month if you just had some text and google adsense on there. Not bad! 13.44 X 12 = $161.28/yr potential profit you can make just from this domain alone with it hosted in the united states and with some proper SEO work.

This $161.28/yr projection comes at a price though and with this I'll talk about the next topic, Domain Name Traffic Competition and Google Page Rank Factors.

Domain Name Traffic Competition W/Google
Domain PR (Page Rank) W/Google

Domain Name Traffic Competition refers to how much competition you are really up against when you attempt to target this keyword for top page position and if it's worth the reward at the end, the $161.28/yr.

If you recall from the last section I showed a list of how google decides to rank domains, one of those important factors was first the amount of 'trusted links and quality of them' (trustRank) and then after some other easy to fix concerns the global page rank of the domain. These '2' factors are the hardest to control and take care of and is what makes google so different from the other search engines.

To find the page rank of a domain name you can use the following tool.

Google PageRank Checker - Check Google page rank of any web pages

As for trust rank, I have an interesting article below on it.

Does Google Trust You? Trust Rank Explained

I could not find any good 'free' tools for checking trust rank and had to make my own tool. The process is basically finding every link that links to the page and checking the page rank of the page the link was on and then if the link used anchor text including the keyword or not when linking to you. This value is termed TrustRank.

Using my program I made (and sorry it's not done yet, but you can PM me for a beta if u want. Yes I know a shameless plug =)) that checks the top 10 pages under the keyword elaws and returns their page rank I found out the following.

1 xxxx - employment laws assistance for workers and small businesses PR -7
2 xxxx - USERRA Advisor PR-7
3 http://www.xxxx.gov.on.ca/ PR-7
4 xxxxxx - LOIS-EN-LIGNE PR-0 (but might be error)
5 Rescue Solutions Today, Working with your lender PR-1
6 http://www.xxxxx.org/ PR-0

I don't need to go any further because as you know position #1 and position #2 are the one's we care about. Looks like you already have some other competition from the owners of xxxxxx.com and xxxxxx.org but the good news is they would be easy to beat since they are only page rank 0 and 1 and probably not optimized well. However the pages in the top using the TLD .gov is extremely difficult to beat, not to mention it's a page rank 7 and those pages are highly optimized and probably have a lot of strong anchor texted links pointing at them or a high trust rank.

To put this in perspective one needs to know the value of page rank. Page Rank is a logarithmic based value and is on a scale from 1 to 10. It goes like this...

Rank 1 - 1 point
Rank 2 - 10 points
Rank 3 - 100 points
Rank 4 - 1000 points
rank 5 - 10000 points!
rank 6 - 100000 points!
rank 7 - 1000000 points!
rank 8 - 10000000 points!
rank 9 - 100000000 points! (eg. sites like microsoft.com)
rank 10 - 1000000000 points! (eg. sites like google.com)

You would need 1000000 links from PR-1 pages to be on equal terms with a PR-7 site, or you could just get '10' PR-6 links or '100' PR-5 links to be on even terms. Is this really worth it though? Just how expensive is it to get links from PR-5 and PR-6 sites?

Well I did an experiment for that also a bit ago, it seems the going rate for PR-4 and PR-5 links or domains is $100-$300. I can only imagine a page rank 6 or 7 link would cost just as much more or be much more difficult to get a good price at in any-case. Of course anyone willing to sell me a PR-6 or 7 domain for under a $100 I'm all ears =).

So what I'm saying is basically your competition if too strong to make this domain worth while even though it could pay out $161.28/yr. You would have to pay probably $600 to just buy the link from a page with high PR like that to get to the top of the search engine for your keyword. I guess you could earn your money back in 5 years..., assuming the link you got your high PR from stays high. In my opinion it's not a good investment. You could if you want though for very little month probably spend $20 to get a link from a PR2 site and easily beat the elaws.com guy but you would earn substantially less money from clicks because you are not position #1 or #2.

I think you could take position 5 or 4 depending on if 4 really was a page rank 0 or not. Position 5 looks like it gets about 10% of the clicks, so of our 8100 projected visitors lets multiply it by 10% to get, 810. Don't forget now that we have to put an 87% reduction factor on these estimates because of country targeting, and we get 105.3 projected visitors now. At a projected CPC of .96 cents that we came up with and an estimated CTR of 1.5% I estimate that you could receive, 1-2 clicks a month for $0.96-$1.92/month, or $12-24/yr. This would make the domain name at least worth more then the REG FEE on this regard, and you could make back your $20 page rank investment in a years time. I still don't think it's worth it...

Possible Reseller Value: -> $2-$3
End User Potential: -> Great name for targeting the keyword but heavy competition will make it harder to find an end user who is willing to pay the 'big money' for your domain and the 'cost' to get to the top with it.
End User Value: -> The only thing that can be determined from this is that since it will cost probably at least $800 to $1000 to get to position #1 or #2 for this keyword that your domain is worth this much 'less' to an End-User to make it worth while for them.


Domain Brandability

This section goes into the phenomenon of Domain Brandability. This is mainly an End-User only discussion but could add some value into the reseller equation if the odds look good.

I took some pointers from the following article below.

How to Appraise a Domain Name's Value...

In general and according to many articles I've read including the above the factors below determine brandability.

- Name Length
- TLD Extension
- Characters, Numbers & Hyphens
- Keyword Popularity
- Traffic & Revenue
- Trends (for example apple started including i into their products and descriptions such as iPhone, iPod & iLife)

You want terms that are easy to remember, like TVrepair.com versus fix-my-broken-television.com. Not only is TVrepair.com shorter and has easier word flow but there is much less chance of someone incorrectly typing in the URL.

I personally think xxxxx.info is great. .Info would represent information and e is a great trend right now and Laws is an easy to say word. The domain is short only 5 letters in length and has good keyword popularity and traffic stats (if we disregard the competition). The name doesn't have any hyphens which tend to lower the value of the name and make it harder for users to type in and remember. Lately though numbers apparently seem to be okay to add to the end of good keywords as long as it's an easy to remember number.

Score: B+ Great Brandable Name For Internet Law Information

Possible Reseller Value: Can't determine from this data accurately.
End User Potential: Should attract immediate attention to someone in the Law Information Field.
End User Value: -> Can't determine from this data accurately.

Domain Past and Similar Sales History

For checking domain sales history I always use dnsaleprice.com. It's a very valuable resource for finding possible end user value.

For proper comparison, you should look for domains with '5' characters in length or shorter, using .info and contain words similar to 'x' and xxxxx' which are you words in this case. I kind of broke this rule since I coudn't find anything '5' characters in length or shorter but I did find many similar words and it should suffice for a good estimate of time and possible end user value.

I discovered...

LawFirm info $2,500 May 04 Sedo 2 7 N N lawfirm.info DNJournal
LawSchool info $705 Jan 07 Sedo Auction 2 9 N N lawschool.info Sedo

These were the only similar .info sales I found, but not bad, the sales range from 2004 to 2008.

There are other ways to get an idea of it's value when you lack examples in the same extention and that is to do a TLD adjustment.

Remember when I discussed how LLL.TLD comparisons are very good indicators of the value of just the TLD. Well you can use the site 3Character.com - 3 Character Domain Name Price Guide in this case to help us out.

For example,

CyberLaws com $959 Jan 09 Sedo Auction 2 9 N N Cyberlaws.com - Cyberlaws Resources and Information.This website is for sale! Sedo
FindLaw net $1,888 Jan 08 AfternicDLS 2 7 N N Lawyer, Lawyers, Attorney, Attorneys, Law, Legal Information - FindLaw DNJournal
ForeclosureLaws com $790 Jul 05 Afternic 2 15 N N TREL ThatSoftwareGuy
AbortionLaws com $370 Oct 03 Afternic 2 12 N N abortionlaws.com ThatSoftwareGuy

I thought some good examples of similar domain names but used different extensions. To adjust for this, take the current price LLL.com are selling for which at the time of writing this article was $4400, and look at what LLL.info are selling for which is $90, take 90/4400 to find the ratio of what a name in .info compared to .com would be. My calculations say that it comes out to roughly 2%.

So if you take 2% of all those sales we found of the keyword in the different TLD's for .com we can get there possible true values in .info. For the .net comparison, just take 90/550 ($550 was the current price of LLL.net at the time) to get 16%.

CyberLaws.com ~ $19.18
FindLaw.net ~ $308.94
ForeclosureLaws.com ~ $15.80
AbortionLaws.com ~ $7.40

Finally take the average of all the domain sales comparables you have.

The average of these values is including the .info data above is, $592.72 or MID $XXX ($300-$600 range)

A reseller looking to capitalize on the possible end user sale will usually want a profit of at least 300-400% at a minimum to make it worth while, you could assume that given this risk the reseller might be willing to pay Mid $XX to acquire the name since it might take 3-4 years to make a sale and they will have to pay renewal fees in the mean time.

To find out the time it might take to sell, look at all the comparables and the year in which they sold and see how often names are sold in the same year and the years apart. This is important because a lot of people just buy domain names because they saw another sale that looked awesome but didn't realize that the sale was 7 years ago and was the only similar domain comparable. Always consider your risk to reward ratio when buying on just sales comparable data. I personally think investing in domains this way is riskier business then stocks.

Possible Reseller Value: Mid $XX ($30-$60)
End User Potential: Might Take '3-4' years to find a buyer at full price and at secondary end user price much faster.
End User Value: -> MID $XXX ($300-$600 range)
 
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